Sunday, May 27, 2012

Memorial Day Skywatching

Memorial Day Skywatching: See the Half Moon Pass Mars

Date: 27 May 2012 Time: 07:00 AM ET

Sky map of Mars, moon and Saturn on May 28, 2012.
This sky map shows the location of Mars near the moon in the southwest on May 28, 2012, as wellas the positions of Saturn and two bright stars, at 9 p.m. local time from mid-northern latitudes.
CREDIT: Starry Night Software

Monday evening bring us a first quarter moon, offering U.S. skywatchers a chance to close out the Memorial Day holiday with a lunar treat and the fading planet Mars.
The first quarter moon is also sometimes called the "half" moon, although as darkness falls across North America close inspection with binoculars or a small telescope may reveal that there is actually a little more than half of the moon illuminated by the sun. That's because the actual moment of first quarter occurred earlier in the afternoon at 4:16 p.m. EDT or 1:16 p.m. PDT (2016 GMT).


June 5 - Safe Public Viewing of Rare Astronomical Event:


Glenn A. Walsh, Project Director,
Friends of the Zeiss < >
Electronic Mail - < >
  < >
Twitter: < >
Facebook: < >
Blog: < >
Author of History Web Sites on the Internet --
* Buhl Planetarium, Pittsburgh:
  < >
* Adler Planetarium, Chicago:
  < >
* Astronomer, Educator, Optician John A. Brashear:
  < >
* Andrew Carnegie & Carnegie Libraries:
  < >
* Civil War Museum of Andrew Carnegie Free Library:
  < >
* Duquesne Incline cable-car railway, Pittsburgh:
  < >
* Public Transit:
  < >

No comments:

Post a Comment